This is the "Welcome & Introduction" page of the "USC Upstate Archives and Special Collections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

USC Upstate Archives and Special Collections  

Last Updated: Jun 3, 2014 URL: http://uscupstate.libguides.com/content.php?pid=492106 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Welcome & Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Want to research with us?

Would you like to research using our collections, or do you have questions about our materials? Please contact Ann Merryman or email the archives at LibArch@uscupstate.edu to schedule an appointment or get help with your questions. Currently, access to materials is by appointment only.  

 

About the Archives

The USC Upstate Archives and Special Collections is home to a variety of materials and several special collections that help to promote knowledge and understanding of the history, programs, and goals of USC Upstate.  The University Archives serves as the official and final repository for the historical records of USC Upstate from its establishment as a branch of the University of South Carolina to the present.  The institution was previously known as the Spartanburg Regional Campus, the University of South Carolina Spartanburg, and USCS.  The name was changed to the University of South Carolina Upstate (USC Upstate) in 2004.

The primary subject emphasis of the University Archives is the continued collection and retention of historical evidence of USC Upstate as a provider of higher education since its founding.  The University Archives attempts to collect, as comprehensively as possible, those records that have enduring value documenting the history of USC Upstate, its programs, services, and constituencies.  

The secondary subject emphasis of the Archives as a whole is the collection and retention of materials that document the history of the geographical area of which USC Upstate is a part -- specifically the ten county area that includes: Abbeville, Anderson, Cherokee, Greenville, Greenwood, Laurens, Oconee, Pickens, Spartanburg, and Union Counties.  

Access to all of the materials and collections is by appointment only, and may not be immediate.  Archives faculty or staff will pull requested materials; no browsing is allowed.  The Archives are a non-circulating collection.  Materials may not be taken from the library, and may have restrictions on photocopy and scanning depending upon content and/or condition.  If you have questions or would like to make an appointment for access, please contact Ann Merryman.

 

 

Donations & Contributions

The Archives solicits and collects the official records and papers of the University and its faculty.  The Archives also gratefully accepts donated materials from individuals, families, and organizations for its collections which are neither official university records nor faculty papers, but which relate to the history of USC Upstate or the geographic area of which USC Upstate is a part.  These materials should fall within the following defined areas:

  • Education
  • Medicine and Healthcare
  • Military History
  • Religion

The Archives and University Library will work with donors to establish appropriate guidelines regarding the use of donated materials and their availability to scholars and researchers.

 

Contact the Archives

Profile Image
USC Upstate Archives & Special Collections
Contact Info
Ann E. Merryman
Coordinator of Archives and Special Collections
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Ann Merryman
Contact Info
Office: Library 273
Phone: 843-503-5275
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip